Rio de Janeiro: The Ins And Outs

So this Summer I spent 6 amazing weeks in Brazil, and despite 4 of them being stuck behind a lab bench (I gotta admit, it was with the most beautiful beachy view out there), my 10 days in Rio was enough to make it the best trip of my life. The highlight for me wasn’t the mind-blowing view from Sugarloaf or the vibrant Copacabana, but the truly kind-hearted Brazilians I was lucky enough to meet out there, the strangers that were willing to give up their time to help the two tourists lost at the bus stop, even when they couldn’t understand a single word that we said. I can’t quite capture the warm-heartedness of these amazing people with photos, but here are some of my favourite places/things to do in this incredibly spirited city.

Plataforma- Where the carnival hits Rio every night.
Plataforma- Where the carnival hits Rio every night.
Akyrio- It's true when they say the sushi in Brazil rivals all others.
Akyrio- It’s true when they say the sushi in Brazil rivals all others.
TribOz-A night of jazz with a side of wine and dine, a true hidden gem.
TribOz-A night of jazz with a side of wine and dine, a true hidden gem.
Maracanã Stadium- You don't need to be a footy fanatic to be blown away by one of the world's greatest, loudest stadium.
Maracanã Stadium- You don’t need to be a footy fanatic to be blown away by one of the world’s greatest, loudest stadiums.
Rocinha Favela- Partaking in a favela tour is one of the things I would recommend highest. A real eye opener (especially when this little kid cracked out the moves for us.)
Rocinha Favela- Partaking in a favela tour is one of the things I would recommend highest. A real eye opener (especially when this little kid cracked out the moves for us.)
View from Rocinha.
View from Rocinha.
Sugarloaf Mountain at night- The view of Rio at night is truly breathtaking.
Sugarloaf Mountain at night- The view of Rio at night is truly breathtaking.
Confeitaria Colombo- The most beautiful tea experience I've ever had (and trust me, I've had a lot.)
Confeitaria Colombo- The most beautiful tea experience I’ve ever had (and trust me, I’ve had a lot.)
Confeitaria Colombo(again)- Did I mention, it was elected one of the 10 most beautiful cafes in the world, oh and that even Queen Elizabeth has popped in for a tea?
Confeitaria Colombo(again)- Did I mention, it was elected one of the 10 most beautiful cafes in the world, oh and that even Queen Elizabeth has popped in for a tea?
Gaia Art and Cafe- Vegetarian cafe with crazy good burgers. Another gem.
Gaia Art and Cafe- Vegetarian cafe with crazy good burgers. Another gem.
 Feira Hippie de Ipanema- A famous market, brimming with stunning art and handmade pieces.
Feira Hippie de Ipanema- A famous market, brimming with stunning art and handmade pieces.
Copacabana- And of course the most vivacious beach in the world.
(above ^) Copacabana-  the most vivacious beach in the world.

Cynthia ❤

One thought on “Rio de Janeiro: The Ins And Outs

Leave a Reply

